The 4th Commandment

As I sat down for some much needed alone time with God last Sunday, I started to think about all the things I have to do in relation to this internship and outside of it, and as I opened my bible app on my phone, this was the verse of the day:

Hebrews 4:15 “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses but one who has similarly been tested in every way, yet without sin.”

Not a coincidence I’m sure. He knows I struggle with managing a good balance in my life, becoming easily overwhelmed and neglecting the important things like time with him and rest. And it’s okay, because he has “…similarly been tested…” It’s pretty crazy to think that the God of the universe was tested like any human is, he knows our weaknesses, he chose to come live among us and be confined to the weaknesses of a man in order to make himself better understood by us, in order to be more relatable, in order to sympathize with our weaknesses. I often relegate the fourth commandment to being outside of and below the ten commandments, to being more of a suggestion and not something we are commanded to do. I look at it, though maybe not consciously but my actions speak louder than my unconscious mind, as something that I should do if I have time, or once I’m done with the things I need or want to do. But God has given us six days to do work, and the 7th to rest; even he rested on the 7th day.

So why do I think I’m somehow above this command that it doesn’t apply to me? As I laid down for a quick nap today, I never actually fell asleep but I could feel my body almost aching with exhaustion. You know that heavy weighty feeling when you’re so tired that in laying down you don’t even really receive rest but you are really just slowing down enough to be able to fully realize how tired you are. It’s a physical feeling, like something extra is attached to your body and hanging on, dragging you down. Anyway, it’s not something a quick 30 minute nap can magically fix, and not something I want to keep feeling. So I need to lay down my pride and attempts at self-sufficiency, realize my weaknesses and limits as a human being, and more importantly recognize my disobedience, confess my sin of not remembering the Sabbath day and keeping it holy, and turn from it.

Thankfully Romans 8:1 says, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” So my heavenly Father does not condemn me for my pride, for placing myself above his command to rest, but gently convicts me. It goes on the say,”For the law of the spirit of life in Christ Jesus has freed you from the law of sin and death. For what the law, weakened by the flesh, was powerless to do, this God has done: by sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for the sake of sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, so that the righteous decree of the law might be fulfilled in us, who live not according to the flesh but according to the spirit.” So let me put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to my (your) earthly nature (Col. 3:5), because I now live according to the spirit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

